Surrey Cricket Champions

22 Apr 2016 - 1:52pm
Category: Sport

The Year 10 indoor cricket team won the Surrey tournament held on Wedneady 20th April at Ashcombe School in Dorking. They faced five other schools, who like the Bevin team, had won their local area competition to be in with this chance of becoming County Champions.


Indoor Cricket champs

These schools included: Thamesmead, Guildford County, Weydon, Bishop David Brown, Tiffin and Ernest Bevin.

There were two pools of three teams. Bevin won both of their group games to set them up for a semi-final. They won the semi-final with the second top score of the tournament 65, with Daniel Willis retired on 20 and bowling a very impressive maiden over, and Taufeeq Ahmed taking a match winning catch.

In the final they faced Tiffin School from Kingston and scored 66 runs batting first. In what turned out to be a close match Bevin won by 5 runs in the last over. Special mention goes to Bilal Muhammad who was retired on 20, and Afaq Malik who got some vital wickets.


Click here to take you to the Surrey Cricket Foundation website and their write up of the tournament.


EBC logo new


News Categories

News Archive










All rights reserved by Ernest Bevin.